Academic News, Administrative News, Parent Association

Mark Your Calendars: Important Aug./Sept. Dates for Parents

Get your calendar ready: August and September are packed full of important SMA dates for parents. Future issues of the newsletter will include a calendar for the current and following months.

Here are some back-to-school dates you won’t want to forget:

Mon., Aug. 28

  • Orientation for Class of 2021, 7:55 a.m.-noon.
  • Transfer student orientation, 7:55 a.m.-noon.
  • New-parent welcome, 8-9 a.m., Commons.

Tues., Aug. 29

  • “Tour” of their schedule, TA meetings, Class of 2021 & transfer students, 7:55 a.m.- noon.

Wed., Aug. 30

  • First day of school for all students, 7:55 a.m.-2:55 p.m.

September

Fri., Sept. 8

Sat. Sept. 9

Mon., Sept. 4

  • NO SCHOOL, Labor Day.

Wed., Sept. 6

  • Seniors Parents College Night, 7 p.m., Commons. Contact: Kimberly Crouch.

Mon., Sept. 11

  • Driver’s Education information mtg., Pacific Driver Education, 6:30 p.m., Room 104/105.

Wed. Sept. 13

  • Parents Association Mtg., 6 p.m., Commons.

Thurs., Sept. 14

  • Parents Back-to-School Night, 5-6:15 p.m. packet pick up, parent social. Meet administrators and teachers, “tour” your student’s current schedule. Event continues until about 8 p.m.

Fri., Sept. 15

  • School photos taken.
  • Yearbooks: Order online here (or print online form and turn in at school) by Dec. 14.
  • Father-Daughter Dinner Dance pre-registration deadline (event Oct. 1). Preregister here. Tickets $65 until Sept. 15; $90 thereafter. Onsite tix not guaranteed.
  • Frosh Lock-In, 8 p.m. start

Sat., Sept. 16

  • Pick up girls from Frosh Lock-In, 7 a.m.

Wed., Sept. 27

  • Student Activity Fair, Commons, lunchtime: Encourage your daughter to learn about SMA clubs.
  • Junior Parents College Q&A, Commons, 8-9 a.m. & 6 p.m. Contact: Kimberly Crouch.

Sun., Oct. 1

  • Father Daughter Dinner Dance, Oregon Convention Center-Oregon Ballroom, 4 p.m. Details and tickets.

Ongoing

  • Become a Parent Volunteer!
    Sign up here for dozens of SMA events/opportunities.